Hike #8 Huron Natural Area

Hike #8

November 5, 2015

Huron Natural Area, Kitchener

I had one day off this week. I took advantage of the unusually beautiful November weather (it was 23 degrees Celsius, what!) The skies were mostly clear, the sun was as high as it could be, with barely a breeze blowing by. The air wasn’t anything like the summer air; this was different, and although it was warm, it still held a crispness to it.

I used to hike along a very small portion of this trail years ago and decided to tackle it with my two free hours. I covered approximately 3.7 kilometers in just under two hours… I stop too frequently to capture photos!

One section of the trail was in a boggy swamp area, with felled logs to cross it. As I got closer to the makeshift bridge, there were animal prints in the mud… they looked a bit large to belong to a dog, and it was then I realized I hadn’t seen anyone else in the area for awhile. I picked up a stick for safety (there have been cougar sightings in Kitchener before, so I wasn’t going to take any chances…)
Without falling into the bog, I made it across the logs and landed safely on solid, dry ground again, and I was met by two girls looking for the actual trail. The other side of the swamp didn’t have a direct “trail” look to it, so thankfully my phone’s GPS came in handy πŸ™‚

Along one of the side trails, mountain biker went ahead of me and stirred up the leaves. It released a true-to-autumn fragrance which made me want to grab a mug of hot apple cider!

Leave a Reply

